Catalog

No items are due; no fines will accrue. Public libraries are not offering regular in-person library services right now.
Contact your library for local information about access to high priority items, drop-off/return locations, or to use digital services.

Record Details

Catalog Search



Almost American girl : an illustrated memoir / Robin Ha.

Ha, Robin, (author,, illustrator.).

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Bethlehem Area Public Library System.
  • 2 of 3 copies available at Lehigh Valley Library System. (Show)

Current holds

0 current holds with 3 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Bethlehem Main Library 741.5 (Text) 33062009258576 YA Graphic Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780062685100
  • ISBN: 0062685104
  • ISBN: 9780062685094
  • ISBN: 0062685090
  • Physical Description: 227 pages, 7 unnumbered pages : chiefly color illustrations ; 24 cm.
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York, N.Y. : Balzer + Bray/Harper Alley, imprints of HarperCollins Publishers, [2020].

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life--perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. For as long as she can remember, it's been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn't always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together. So when a vacation to visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes a permanent relocation--following her mother's announcement that she's getting married--Robin is devastated. Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped into a new school where she doesn't understand the language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut off from her friends in Seoul and has no access to her beloved comics. At home, she doesn't fit in with her new stepfamily, and worst of all, she is furious with the one person she is closest to--her mother. Then one day Robin's mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined"--Amazon.com.
Subject: Authors, American > Virginia > Falls Church > Comic books, strips, etc.
Emigration and immigration > Comic books, strips, etc.
Immigrants > Comic books, strips, etc.
Mothers and daughters > Comic books, strips, etc.
Single mothers > Comic books, strips, etc.
Teenage girls > Comic books, strips, etc.
Koreans > United States > Comic books, strips, etc.
Stepfamilies > Comic books, strips, etc.
English language > Study and teaching > Comic books, strips, etc.
Korean American families > Comic books, strips, etc.
Korean Americans > Comic books, strips, etc.
Comic books, strips, etc. > Authorship > Comic books, strips, etc.
Graphic novels > Authorship > Comic books, strips, etc.
Women immigrants > Biography > Comic books, strips, etc.
Women illustrators > Biography > Comic books, strips, etc.
Korea > Comic books, strips, etc.
Alabama > Comic books, strips, etc.
Genre: Graphic novels.
Comics (Graphic works)
Autobiographies.
Biographies.
Autobiographical comics.
Nonfiction comics.

Additional Resources