Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Daughters of smoke and fire : a novel / Ava Homa.

Homa, Ava, (author.).

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Bethlehem Area Public Library System.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Lehigh Valley Library System. (Show)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Bethlehem Main Library f (Text) 33062009333478 New Adult Fiction Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781419743092
  • ISBN: 1419743090
  • Physical Description: xiv, 306 pages : map ; 23 cm
  • Publisher: New York : The Overlook Press, 2020.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"Set in Iran, this extraordinary debut novel takes readers into the everyday lives of the Kurds. Leila dreams of making films to bring the suppressed stories of her people onto the global stage, but obstacles keep piling up. Leila?s younger brother Chia, influenced by their father?s past torture, imprisonment, and his deep-seated desire for justice, begins to engage with social and political affairs. But his activism grows increasingly risky and one day he disappears in Tehran. Seeking answers about her brother?s whereabouts, Leila fears the worst and begins a campaign to save him. But when she publishes Chia?s writings online, she finds herself in grave danger as well. Daughters of Smoke and Fire is an evocative portrait of the lives and stakes faced by 40 million stateless Kurds and a powerful story that brilliantly illuminates the meaning of identity and the complex bonds of family, perfect for fans of Khaled Hosseini?s The Kite Runner and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie?s Half of a Yellow Sun.--book jacket.
Subject: Kurds > Iran > Fiction.
Iran > Fiction.
Genre: Fiction.
Fiction.

Additional Resources